Skip to main content

BSO Sessions Episode 23: Locally Made

BSO Sessions Episode 23: Locally Made

BSO Sessions Episode 23: Locally Made

Release Date: 4/21/2021

BSO Sessions episodes begin with a virtual performance premiere at 8 pm, followed by on-demand access through June 2021 ($9.99 pay-per-view and $19.99 monthly all-access). Customer support is provided by the BSO Ticket Office. Contact by email at [email protected] or by phone at 877-276-1444.

The works of nationally and internationally renowned composers from the Baltimore-D.C. area take center stage in this dynamic episode that opens with Jonathan Leshnoff’s visceral “Miller-Kahn” Quartet. Baltimore-born Philip Glass’ entrancing work contrasts with the intensely sorrowful Lyric for Strings by George Walker, the first Black composer to win the Pulitzer Prize for Music. Also featured are Duke Ellington’s “Come Sunday;” Kevin Puts’ Arcana; and the world premiere of Ubuntu, composed by the BSO’s own Brian Prechtl.

Nicholas Hersh, conductor

Jonathan Rush, conductor

JONATHAN LESHNOFF String Quartet No. 3 for String Orchestra, "Miller-Kahn", Mvt. II and III

PHILIP GLASS “Runaway Horses” from Mishima

ELLINGTON (arr. Jensen) “Come Sunday”

WALKER Lyric for Strings


BRIAN PRECHTL Ubuntu (World Premiere)

Event Contact

Ticket Office

Event Details

Wednesday, April 21, 2021, 8:00 PM – 9:00 PM


Add Event To Your Calendar